Oobu Joobu Part 5

Paul McCartney
Oobu Joobu Part 5 - CD Cover Oobu Joobu Part 5 - CD Back
Oobu Joobu Part 5 - Front Cover Oobu Joobu Part 5 - Back Cover
Label Yellow Cat
Catalogue No. YC 049
CD Matrix No. A2 <8704>
Country Of Origin   "Made in Israel"
Release date 1995
Total time 54:30
Comments: Oobu Joobu is a radio program created, directed and presented by Deejay Paul McCartney.

It was a Westwood One Radio Show, that was a series of 13 one hour programs running from Memorial Day to Labour Day in the U.S. Remarkably, the short-sighted radio producers of this country did not take up the offer to broadcast the show.

This edition was broadcast 12th June 1995.

All Oobu Joobu releases are taken from the C.D.'s that were used to distribute the show and are therefore in pure C.D. quality. As these shows are made for radio, one can hear pauses where the show lets the advertisers have a turn. Each of these breaks is preceded and follwed with an Oobu Joobu jingle. I have marked where the ad breaks occur.

The packaging is also very nice with a booklet containing excellent pictures and a full Yellow Cat catalogue.

The C.D.

No Tracklisting Comments Time
1 Introduction/Oobu Joobu Paul's introduction and radio jingle 1:17
2 Love Mix Unfinished song 2:44
3 Stop, You Don't Know Where She Came From Short demo from "Rude Corner" 0:26
4 Tipitina 1953 by Professor Longhair (Stagename of Henry Roeland Byrd) 4:24
5 Fool On The Hill Rehearsal 4:38
Ad Break
6 New Moon Over Jamaica Mix - Paul's demo and Johnny Cash version (probably May 1988) 4:31
7 Buladance The Baki Tribe 1:42
8 Bring It On Home Soundcheck in Minneapolis 23rd May 1993. 6:57
Ad Break
9 Dance Of The Cossacks From the Nutcracker Ballet, by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Andre Previn. 1:15
10 Cook Of The House Linda's recipe spot - "Noodles German Style" 1:57
11 You Know You Are Such An Incredible Thing Jam session 4:30
12 Fixing A Hole Tour rehearsal 3:56
Ad Break
13 I Lost My Little Girl Soundcheck 2:12
14 Gimme Some Loving Spencer Davis Group - No.2 December 1966 (No. 1 was Tom Jones - "Green Green Grass Of Home" 2:49
15 Comedy D.J. chat and American comedy (Lamortar Brothers ?) 0:58
16 Let It Be Mock version. Paul sings, "Hands off my granny, let her be". 0:37
17 Let It Be Rehearsal 3:53
18 Oobu Joobu Closing Theme Jingle and chat 1:16
Bonus Tracks
19 Act 1: Right From the MPL short 15 minute animation film, "Daumier's Law" about the artist Honore Daumier. The music was recorded in December 1989 in Paul's Sussex studios. 2:25
20 Act 2: Wrong 2:03

©2003 Graham Calkin's Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.