Acetate Collection Vol. 2

The Beatles
Acetate Collection Vol. 2 - CD cover Acetate Collection Vol. 2 - CD back
Acetate Collection Vol. 2 - Front Cover Acetate Collection Vol. 2 - Back Cover

Label Unicorn
Catalogue No. UC 143
Release Date 2011
Total Time 65:08
(from the sleeve)
According to the liner notes for this release, “Ten years have passed since the release of Unicorn’s Acetate Collection in 2001,
although some were controversial, it did compile a comprehensive selection of rare and unreleased Beatles acetates.
Although this set doesn’t offer a full running order of acetates, it does provide the listener with some rare and previously un-bootlegged recordings.”

There is no overriding logic to the selection.
All of the tracks come from the original sources without any digital filtering, speed correction or mastering.
The age of the acetates are obvious by surface noise and clicks and pops in the music, but all are acceptable under the circumstances.

The C.D.

No Tracklisting Comments Time
1 Sunday Night At The London Palladium 1963 Sourced from a recently discovered 10" 33rpm acetate
The first side of the acetate has the edited highlights of The Beatles’ show with “From Me To You,” “I’ll Get You,” “She Loves You” and “Twist & Shout”
Awful sound quality, almost like it is recorded off a television speaker
2 Christmas Message Outtake 8th November 1965 - Unreleased random chat not used on 3rd Christmas Flexi
Paul makes an introduction, but after that it's hard work to get anything usable out of anyone.
With the band talking about slicing babies (a la the “butcher” cover) and Lennon swearing, it’s obvious why this was never released
Tracks 3-8 are all from Liverpool Empire 22nd December 1963
3 From Me To You - I Saw Her Standing There Starts with 20 seconds of drum beat ! 4:03
4 All My Loving - Roll Over Beethoven Paul, "A new song off the new LP we released this week !" 5:09
5 Boys - 'Til There Was You John, "Ringo was going to sing the new song, but he hasn't learnt it" 4:59
6 She Loves You - This Boy George introduces This Boy 4:50
7 I Want To Hold Your Hand - Money (That's What I Want) Paul thanks everyone and rouses the audience before Money 6:10
8 Twist And Shout - From Me To You (instrumental) Sounds like the show finishes and the band leave to the instrumental. 2:54
9 Magical Mystery Tour Acetate of RM4
Lacking some of the instruments and overdubs of the official version
10 A Day In The Life (Interlude) Stereo remix 0:31
11 Can You Take Me Back Long version edited from best source 1:54
12 Hum Unused Edit Piece for ‘A Day In The Life’ 0:12
13 King Lear BBC Broadcast As used in the I Am The Walrus fade out. 0:44
14 The Beach Boys & The Beatles Capitol Records acetate of Telephone Interview 11th March 1964
The Capitol Records acetate with type-written label was purchased for $5 at an L.A. flea market in 2001 and later sold at auction for a staggering $10.000!!
The original 6 minute recording seems to be the only one in existence.
Unicorn offer a small excerpt of Brian Wilson saying he likes the Beatles’ haircuts and George Harrison joking that they cut their own hair.
15 The Elastic Oz Band - God Save Us From 8" Apple acetate
Lennon vocal and lacking saxophone and other overdubs
16 Ringo Starr - It Don't Come Easy Apple 8" acetate
Notably different from the released version - horns are buried in the mix, but Hallelujah is much louder

©2013 Graham Calkin's Beatles Pages. All Rights Reserved.